The Fog

by Peter Wallace, © 2007

In 1980, Director John Carpenter made a horror movie called “The Fog.” Somebody remade it in 2005. Isn’t it funny that people could be scared by something as soft and harmless as fog? I mean, it’s really just a low cloud… thick air. Good moisture for your complexion. It would be like making a horror movie about air, or moisturizer.

Fog is calming and enveloping. It makes me feel peaceful and thoughtful sometimes.

This isn’t well known, except to people who know me, but I spend much of my waking hours in a fog, which is different than being in fog, though in both cases not really quite knowing what’s going on is the result, so maybe they aren’t so different after all.

Last Friday we went to Norm’s on Lake Koshkonong for fish, and we noticed how interesting the lake looked, and as we watched, fog gathered and spread. Nothing scary happened… at least not that night.

The next morning at 4:30 we left the house so I could be dropped off at the airport. It was foggy, but not so bad that driving was a problem. As I found out a bit later, it wasn’t too foggy to take off in a plane, but it was too foggy to land in one, which is always a very important part of every plane trip.

Milwaukee was fogged in, so my 6:05 flight became a 9:05 flight… meaning that I could have driven to Milwaukee… in reverse… and gotten there earlier. Of course, the 8:40 flight to Dallas left without me, so I was rebooked on the 1:25 flight, which ended up leaving at 3:50. When all was said and done, I arrived at my hotel in Dallas 13 1/2 hours later.

As it turns out, Mapquest.com says it takes 15 1/2 hours to drive from my house to the hotel where I stayed. In other words, thanks to the fog, I saved a total of two hours in my 991 mile trip over having gotten in the car and driving. Driving would have meant no security line, no crying babies, and no endless waiting.

It was a long day. The fog was long gone by noon, but its wreckage remained. Now, I should point out that plenty of people have had lots worse travel delays in the past month than I lived with on Saturday. And, all the airline people were very nice.

Most of the trips I take go very well, and I’m glad for that. Each trip, though, has the potential to go the way Saturday’s trip did. But, if you asked me if I know how the next trip will go, I’d have to answer that I don’t have the foggiest idea.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2007

Leave a Reply

