Throwback

So, Pepsi has come out with a boutique, summer soft drink.  It’s called “Pepsi Throwback.”  What makes it novel?  It’s made with real sugar, instead of high fructose corn syrup, which has become the sweetner of choice over the years, because it is cheaper.

I bought a 12-pack of the Throwback Pepsi.  I like it.  I think it does taste better.  And, we’re told that one of the reasons we’re all getting fat is that the corn syrup now in pop is processed differently in our bodies than sugar.

I drink diet soft drinks much of the time, but some people say that consuming too much of them can contribute to giving people what’s called “metabolic syndrome.”   That malady is evidenced by a build-up of fat on the abdominal area, high triglycerides, low HDL, and all sorts of bad news for our hearts, along with higher risk of diabetes.

I don’t know if corn syrup or diet sodas are as bad as they say, but it’s funny that as I drink my morning Pepsi I now feel like I’m doing something healthy.  All things are relative.

I see Pepsi Throwback as ushering in a whole new era of throwback products.  How about 2 x 4 lumber that measures 2″ by 4″?  Or, maybe cotton balls made with actual cotton?  Or, how about a saving account that pays more than .00002% interest?

Summer will end, and Throwback Pepsi will go away.  Sugar costs too much, I guess, to bring Pepsi back to the old recipe for good.  If the truth be told, I should probably just drink water anyway.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2009

Leave a Reply

