Christmas Shorts

No, this isn’t about boxers with elves and reindeer on them.  Sorry.  Instead, I’d like to share a few stories and thoughts related to this season.

What do we call it?

After years of businesses telling their employees to wish customers “Happy Holidays” in an effort to avoid offending any non-Christians, it seems that the pendulum is swinging in the other direction this year, according to a radio news story I heard last week.

I have to say that I’m comfortable with either “Merry Christmas” or “Happy Holidays.”  There are so many more important things to get worked up about.  It is ironic, though, that Christmas in America is largely a non-religious event, while the word “Holiday” has as its root, the word Holy.   I’m just saying…

Best and Worst Day

On Monday I had to drive to Janesville to get a new headlight bulb for our two year old car.  NAPA didn’t have it on their computer, and since the service department where we bought the car isn’t open on Saturday, I had to take the time on Monday.  Turns out, the bulb was $26, with about that much labor to have it put in.  I was not happy.

But, to counter that, my trip into Madison on Monday to renew my driver’s license was like a wonderful dream come true.  In and out in ten minutes.  I brought a book that I never had the chance to open.  I almost cried tears of joy.

That night, I started to feel a little iffy in the stomach region, but didn’t want to make a big deal of it.  As luck would have it, Monday was a night with an actual meal – not that common at our house – and I was presented with a huge plate of pasta, which looked delicious, but not in my marginal condition.  I had two noodles.  Maybe three.  Then I sat in the recliner until bed time, waiting for my body to settle down.  But, it was Monday, after all.

Helping Hooves

We got a catalog in the mail last week from an organization called Heifer International (www.heifer.org).  It’s a non-profit that helps people in impoverished regions of the world by giving them a sheep, a cow, a goat, a water buffalo, or even tree seedlings, along with training on how to take care of them, and use them for their own subsistence, and to sell the excess to help them escape from poverty.  The catalog is their way of offering people the chance to give a gift of an animal and training to someone in need in lieu of presents under the tree for people who have everything they want already.  I liked what I read, and maybe you will too.

Those are my Christmas shorts.  I hope yours don’t get in a bundle as you make your holiday preparations.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2010

Leave a Reply

