Bouncing Around

I’ve had a lot of insignificant things bouncing around in my head lately. Now, a normal person would just have a dozen or so beers and forget them, but instead I’ll write them here so you can share in my mental meanderings.

While at the Wisconsin Sheep and Wool Festival a few weekends ago at the Jefferson County Fairgrounds, I entered the restroom and saw that all the “facilities” were automatic, except for one, which had a sign above it that said, “I’m not automatic. Please flush.” I’ve probably talked to plumbing fixtures in the past, but I’ve never before seen one that started a conversation with me.

Marathon swimmer Diana Nyad recently completed the swim from Cuba to Florida, which is really good for someone who is 64 years-old. Some people are questioning the authenticity of the accomplishment, but I’m giving her the benefit of the doubt. The reason I bring up the swim is that the report I heard on CBS Radio news indicated that she made the swim without a “cage shark.” I’m guessing what the reporter meant to say was “shark cage,” unless there’s a new species of shark that looks like a cage.

I recently had some work done on my car, after hitting a very hard object on the Interstate that bent one of my front rims. After sitting for hours, the mechanic approached me and said, “Oh, I didn’t know you were waiting for it. I would have worked faster.” It’s nice to know he took his good-natured time, especially since I was paying by the hour.

I’m wondering these days if we’ll ever again get involved in a war where we like one of the parties involved.

It’s easier to support the good guys against the bad guys, but less easy to support the less bad guys against the really bad guys.

I like to buy things on-line from “deal-a-day” type sites. Recently I bought a motion-activated LED light which I put at the top of our stairs for added safety on my nightly pilgrimage to the bathroom at 3am. It works well, other than scaring me half to death when it turns on, since in my half-asleep condition I have completely forgotten about it. Night after night the light makes me jump. You’d think I’d learn.

I saw that the polar ice cap has grown at a record rate this year, due to the very cold temperatures. Perhaps related to that, according to scientists at the Pulkovo Observatory in St. Petersburg, Russia, “solar activity is waning, so the average yearly temperature will begin to decline as well.” Many scientists from Britain and the United States say that forecasts for global cooling are credible. Unfortunately, global cooling has more negative consequences than global warming, as growing seasons shorten, and crops diminish. Something new to worry about.

And, the conspiracy of NFL referees against the Green Bay Packers continued in week one of the season. Well, maybe it isn’t a conspiracy. After all, everyone makes misteaks.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2013

Leave a Reply

